Set Property to Python Variable?

(mindblender) #1

I have have no Python background. My background is in Visual Basic. is there away to take a property set to an object and set it as a variable in Python, then access that variable with another object? Thanks in advance.

(z3r0 d) #2

can you be more specific?

[also, are you talking about for the game engine?]

(mindblender) #3

Oh, sorry, yes the Game Engine. But I just had a revelation. The only problem is I’m not doing something right(wow, go figure). When I say

import GameLogic

it says

Import Error : No Module Named GameLogic

Is there something I’m not doing? Here’s the code I have so far:

import Blender
import sys
import GameLogic

cont=GameLogic.getCurrentController()
own=cont.getOwner()
draw=own.draw
draw=GameLogic.getRandomFloat()*51
draw=draw+1
own.draw=draw

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

(z3r0 d) #4

game engine scripts must be run in the game engine using a python controller, hitting alt+p in the text window will not do it

you can access properties of objects containing any logic bricks that are connected to the python controller in the same manner as you are doing now

cont = GameLogic.GetCurrentController()
sensor = cont.getSensors()[0]

me = cont.getOwner()
somebody = sensor.getOwner()

you can have links between logic bricks of different objects

(mindblender) #5

Thanks it’s working now. I was starting the game in the first place, but I restarted Blender and now I’m not having a problem. The only thing is, I have the python connected to a keyboard sensor for the SPACE bar. When I press the SPACE bar, more than one random number is generated. It’s like it generates a random number when I press it down and when I release it. Why is that?

(z3r0 d) #6

scripts are run on both true and false pulses

a keyboard sensor [by default] sends a true pulse when you press the key, and a false one when you release it