Setting up Space Navigator with Ubuntu

This is more of a configuration philosophy question. I’m fairly new to Linux, and haven’t quite got my head around the proper way to configure this beast.

I have my SpaceNavigator running and I am able to work with Blender. But I am currently having to type

sudo /etc/3DxWare/daemon/3dxsrv -d usb
at the command line to get things started. This brings up their bug ugly application which is needed to translate the controller movements to something that Blender can understand.

Now… The installer script tried to add this command to /etc/inittab, but Ubuntu really doesn’t use that anymore. And I can’t just put the command as a startup program because the device handle is root only.

So, the question is, should I try and figure out the upstart system which, as I understand it, replaces the inittab and its ilk on Ubuntu distros, or should I add udev rules so the device is readable by all?

Ultimately, I’m sure I need to be able to do both, but personally, I’m a little twitchy about something that just sits around on my desktop running at elevated privlege. I think the right thing to do here is to fix the permissions so I can run the command as a normal user.

Good grief, I am navigationally impaired. I meant to post this in Off Topic. Somebody help me, then shoot me.

Bang!

On a more serious note, you’d probably have more success if you’d ask that question on the 3dconnexion forum ( http://www.3dconnexion.com/forum/ ). You’re right though, their current linux driver is pretty much brain dead. Last I heard, they were in the process of making is better, but that was months ago without news…

Martin

If you don’t mind my asking, how good is the Space Navigator? I’ve used several programs productively over the years. The most irritating thing I have to suffer when I switch between programs is that I have to switch between mouse controls.