Several questions from a complete noob:-)

Greetings

First of all, please understand that I am a complete “noob” at this whole 3D modelling/raytracing thing (even though I am absolutely fascinated by it). I’ve played with various 3D tools over the years (even Blender) but it was’nt until just a few days ago that I really decided to get serious about it. I’m currently using Blender v2.35 on my Fedora Core 2 Linux box running the Gnome desktop environment. I’ve read through a number of tutorials (which were excellent) but I still have some questions. Below are a few of the questions I have after spending several days playing around with Blender…

(1#) How do I apply separate colors/images/textures to two different (linked or non-linked) models?
(2#) What can I do about the Blanguages error on start-up?
(3#) Any extra primatives available out there and where can I find them?
(4#) What specific features does TrueSpace have that Blender lacks?
(5#) Where can I download extra Blender3d (v2.35) interface themes?
(6#) How do I delete the initial default scene/model (a box)?
(7#) Where do I put .py files and how do I run them from within Blender?
(8#) I really want to use the YafRay plugin to do beautiful raytraces but all I get are dull, ugly images.
(9#) No matter what I draw, I still end up with bland, dull shapes after rendering.
(10#) Why do certain things I do in Blender cause my Linux machine to log me out?

Any help on these things would be greatly appreciated. Sorry for so many questions. Please don’t feel overwhelmed by them all - even if I could get just a few of them answered, it would help me tremendously and I can always repost the remaining ones later :smiley:

• Regards

Welcome to elYsiun!

well, im not sure that i can answer all of your questions… so:

1. add a new material. there will be a popup menu in the materials window. one of its options will be [ADD NEW] use this option to create a new material for that object.

2. no idea