Shadow issue, 3 point lighting

Hello guys, I am new to Blender and BlenderArtists.

I am trying to render a very simple model using the 3 point lighting system but the shadow is not smooth. What am I doing wrong?

The setup -

Most likely a geometry problem with the vase, but could be some particular way that shadows overlap. The file would tell more than the screenshot.

That’s not a geometry problem, it’s a direct lighting problem, and that’s not 3-point lighting. 3-point doesn’t just mean 3 lights.
Key light = main light
Fill light = another light source, usually coming from the other side of the key
Rim light = light usually coming from behind
Change those or move those around as you will, but it’s usually done with Area lights. Also try to turn on Environment lighting to soften the shadows. Also, smooth shadows on Area lights come from Samples, turn them up at will. Higher = Softer
But yeah, we could use your file, so please upload it :slight_smile:

To expand on that typically only the keylight casts shadows. So pick one light to be your shadow caster and turn off shadow casting for the other two. There is a three-point lighting AddOn floating around, I believe…

Now I really want to see that file! AFAICT nothing but geometry could cause that little discontinuity 1/4 of the way up from the bottom of the vase. It’s not where two shadow borders intersect, because that’s just above …

Dithering should clear that up, but it looks like shadows are turned on and all of the lights are iintersecting, but, yet again, we have no file…

3 light sources is not 3 point lighting.
Think of it this way: