Shadowing problems, when using a plane behind a sun.

Hello BlenderArtists,

I’m a newbie at Blender. But I really love its possibilities and great power.

For training I’m trying to model a scene showing a patio at sunset. I use a plane with a self-made picture as background.
Between the patio and this plane I placed the “sun”-lamp. Unfortunately the shadowing/ lighting doesn’t work in the way it should.

If I deactivate “traceable” on the plane-object the shadowing works correct, but I cannot see the water through my glass pane because the ray-tracing is disabled.
When activating “traceable” I can see the water but the shadowing is wrong.

What do I have to do, to render this scene correct?

Thanks in advance :)!

You need to give more info, screenshots, link to blend file.
‘Shadowing is wrong’ what does this mean ?
Note that transparent objects cast shadows just as if they are solid. Any materials that will receive these shadows you need to set ‘Receive Transparent’ in their Material / Shadow settings

I’m irritated, screenshots should have been attached. I’m trying again.

Attachments

1. Sun type lamps generate their ‘light’ from outside the render. So even though you have the lamp PLACED between them Blender will still consider the light as coming from behind your image plane no matter what.

2. Uncheck “Cast Shadows” on the image plane

Thank you for your answer, Star Ranger4. I guessed as much that the light is coming from behind the plane.
I deactivated all cast shadows checkboxes but the render output is still as in my former post (“traceable.png”)

I attached a screenshot of my material settings.

Thanks again for your help :).

Attachments

You need to uncheck traceable on the background plane and check traceable and receive transparent on everything else.

@Tech Wreck thank you for your answer.