Shape converging on shape

Hi, I’m new to blender. before I get into the problem I’m having, let me give you a little background about my skill sets: in addition of physical media painting and drawing, I do photoshop and vector graphics design (learned in Illustrator, but I actually prefer Inkscape). so I’m not a complete babe in the woods… except in that this is the first time I’ve seriously attempted to learn 3d design. my intention for this is to design papercraft models, so you will find that modifiers such as subdivision surface, or fully rendering images aren’t very important to what I’m trying to accomplish.

so on to my problem: I’m working on a model of a Harley Davidson motorcycle (so far strangely easier as a learning experience than the corvette I attempted and failed at previously). I am building the fuel tank, which I’ve extruded and shaped a plane that forms a verticle loop. so far that part is parfect, and I have no problem there. except my plan was to take that shape and eventually connect it to a flat oval disc on the side of the tank. I’ve got the edges stepped down in subtle angles to the point where I’m ready to connect to the disc, and now all that rmains is to join the two shapes. I assumed this would be easy, but it is not. is there a function to join an outer shape to a center shape, when both have a different number of points?

ALTERNATIVELY: can I flatten several selected points on an axis? because if I can do that I can dispense with the separate disc entirely, extrude out the side, flatten it in the y axis, and form the disc out of that, and then that I know how to join at a center point. it’s just that I’ve fine tuned the edge so much that it’s not flat on that axis, and it’s vital that the thing terminate at a perfectly flat side face for papercrafting purposes.

thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

here’s a screenshot of what I’m dealing with:

Hi you said