Short film workflows

I’m sure this has been asked before, but I haven’t found anything specific to Blender. I’m just wondering what the best way to manage files for a short animation would be. I’ve never done any major animation before, so I would want to start off properly.

As I understand it, all characters and objects can be stored in separate .blend files, and then linked into the scenes. This would provide updates across all the scenes by modifying the original files, am I correct?

What other tips do animators have?

We never tried to do anything like that on XTIN Project. When making changes to a file we would usually save the changes as a new file with an incremented number. I suppose you could have a file.v.000 which would be the linked too file, and then after working on file.v.015 you could also save it again as file.v.000.

Try it and see.

use SVN or some other versioning software; manually tracking changes is going to make your life a bit complicated.
SVN has a nice track record: it’s being used by many small studios and unis, is used for all the open movie projects, and has some graphical front ends.
To check project organization of the repo, study the file structure for BBB.

Animating with Blender: How to Create Short Animations from Start to Finish by Roland Hess would be a suggested starting point. I haven’t read it myself but the contents (viewable at Amazon) show chapters about folder structures and organising things.

At the very least it could be useful to have a read about somone else’s experience with creating a short film with blender.