Short Intro Animation

Alright so I just made a thread but I didnt know I couldn’t post links with only a couple posts, so it didnt show up. So hopefully it doesn’t appear later on. I’m new to 3d animation and would like to learn blender. I have been doing video production for 2 years now and would like to create a short intro animation for my films. I am attending Humboldt State University this summer so I came up with a new company called “Humboldt Cinema.” I created a storyboard for you guys to view so you have a better idea of what I picture in my head.

http://img161.imageshack.us/img161/3443/storyboarde.jpg

The basic idea is that a deer is grazing in the middle of the road. A car horn honks and headlights light up the deer, but before the car appears in the scene a giant rock smashes the deer. Its feet stick out from underneath. The camera pans down to a dramatic shot and reveals the rock actually spells out Humboldt. A redwood tree sits on each side of the word, and the word Cinema sits underneath the asphalt. Underneath the asphalt is also tree roots that entangle the word Cinema.

I am a noob so like every noob I need some help getting started. So any suggestions along the way are encouraged. I plan to take this project slow so I can learn alot about the program. I plan to start modeling the slab of road first. Does anyone know how I can get road lines over a cracked asphalt texture?

Thanks in advance for your help.

I’m glad that you put some of your personal work to help attract members to your project. In my opinion, and from experience, getting others to do the work for you just doesn’t work. Not many folks are learning blender just to help a noob get his/her idea off the ground. Nothing annoys a techie more that having a noob ask questions that they should find for themselves.

You can try learning blender, getting up a deer meshed, rendered, rigged and so on . . . and then present this to the public for help.