Short rant about how Blender manages pivot (object origin)

I hope this is something they’re planning to improve in a near future because I just can’t get used to it, to a guy coming from 3DSmax it doesn’t make sense at all.
Here’s an example from 3DSmax where you can position the object pivot independantly, using numerical values instead of relying on the 3D cursor which is a very bothersome process. Whenever I need use the mirror modifier I have to spend way more time than I should in order to position objects where I want (and sometimes I just have to give up).
It’s not a logical nor easy process, it deserves some love from the devs.

Also, since I’m a game dev, I always have to position an object pivot to its base before exporting, I also find this too complicated for what it should be.

You can use a custom Empty (or an another object) for the mirror modifier, you do not need t rely on the pivot. In fact that is the method I recommend.

1 Like

Can you specify?

Create an “Empty” not sure what you call that in Max, maybe Null? And select that empty as the mirror modifier controller in the panel. Then the empy can be used to control both the center and the rotation axis of the mirror

1 Like

I also came over from 3DS, and this was definitely one of the sticking points for me as well. That said, there are a few related tools that may not be immediately apparent, and once you’ve got them figured out, you’ll start to have some aha moments.

I’d recommend reading these fully, even if you are aware of the features. There may be some hidden gems of info in there to make your life a bit easier:
3D Cursor
Snapping
Pivot Point
Object Origin

1 Like

Thanks for the help but “set object origin” shortcut doesn’t work in 2.8 and I can’t find it in the keymap. (if anyone knows this shortcut in 2.8 that would be greatly appreciated)