Should I learn version 2.3, or 2.4?

I just received my new Blender 2.3 Guide today, with installation disk version 2.32. I’m wondering which version of Blender I should set about learning. I’m brand new to 3D.

So far I’ve worked through a few tutorials using version 2.4, and here and there things seem to be a little different in the new interface than the turorial. I got to thinking that maybe I should just go ahead and learn the earlier version.

Any thoughts? How much better is 2.4?

I’m not going to be a power user for a long, long time, so does it make any difference?

Thank you.

Stick with 2.37a until you are going to animate with armatures. Than change. But I think this will take you only two weeks or so :wink:

Just start with 2.40. Since you’re new to blender it doesn’t matter if you start with 2.37 or 2.40. In addition to the Blender 2.3 book you should read (or look through) the release logs from 2.31 to 2.40, since there have been a lot of changes and additions:
http://www.blender.org/cms/Releaselogs.34.0.html

tough call. if you have some 3d background jump into 2.4 But if you are going to be relaying on documentaion 2.37 has better documentation for now.
edit:

…3.37…3.4

This is the wrong thread to make version number mistakes. %|

just start with 2.40, you will need to learn it anyway, and if there are some differences in interface between 2.37a and 2.40, then by having to translate between 2.3 and 2.4, you will learn the interface better. Besides, the interface changed more between 2.32 and 2.37a than it did between 2.37a and 2.40.

from 2.40 Blender uses modifier paradigm.

so: you’ll need to get used to that anyway.
2.3x series wasn’t using modifiers.

I’d reccomend to definetely start out with 2.4. You’ll be missing a lot of features that I couldn’t LIVE without with that old of a version.

I highly reccomend using a newer version. The old documentation will apply to a new version just fine…