Simple rig of the Ball

Hi :evilgrin:,

I need to rig a ball…:rolleyes:…how?
Ball must:

1. Move
2. Rotate
3. Squash & Stretch independently on rotation :yes:
4. Move the position of Squash & Stretch Center :yes:
5. All Keys in animation must be set on the rig:yes: not on the mesh !!! :no:…

Anyone???

stretchy bone. dunno 'bout 4 tho.

Squash & Stretch must be independent on the rotation of ball. Stretchy bone is connected to the mesh indirectly to the rotation of object…:no:

Try lattice instead of a stretchy bone. Note that you need to add either IPO driver (locX, locY, locZ) or “Copy Location” constraint to lattice so that it gets those values. We cannot use normal parenting as usually in this case as it copies rotation (besides location and scale) too.

Yes, it sounds good but I am not a professional in blender…what is IPO driver and how can I do it…

Lattice will achieve most of what you want easily, even using a simple “parent to Lattice” method and keying the lattice stretch, sqaush and location in object mode. In fact, you could parent the ball to almost anything and it would work because the parent object controls the squash and stretch and location but rotation can still be keyed either directly, or via a different parent object. I used lattice in this wiki tutorial. You can view an online (Blogger) version of my bouncing ball video on my new blog here.

I like Lattice because you can fit it exactly to the ball which means the faces of the lattice indicate the extremities of the ball which make on-contact squashing easier to key - visually.