Skinning just one part of mesh say(hairs) to just one bone (head bone), instead of entire bone chain

Hello, I’m new to Blender recently switched from Maya.
So my question is pretty simple I wanted to skin just the hairs to my character, but what everyone is doing is selecting the mesh(hair) and then the entire rig and then skin, but this way the entire bone vertex group is added to the mesh where I just needed head bone vertex group. I know I can manually remove the unwanted groups but it doesn’t feel good. Hope you understand my question. (One more thing i don’t want to parent the mesh) .
Thanks.

If the object is rigid, you could parent it to a single bone instead of skinning it.

To do that:
-Select the object
-Then select the armature
-Switch to pose mode
-Select the correct bone
-Press ctrl+p and choose set parent to bone

1 Like

Thanks for helping, but I’ve already mentioned in the question i don’t want to parent the mesh.

Hi @amitkuliyal,

In your armature, take a note of the actual bone name that you want to skin the hair to. Let’s say it’s ‘Head.001’ as an example ( or whatever name you have assigned ).

Select the hair mesh, and in edit mode assign all the vertices ( weight = 1 ) to a new vertex group. Rename this vertex group with the exact same name as the bone mentioned previously ( eg Head.001 ).

Back in object mode, add the armature modifier directly to the mesh from the modifier panel ( it’s the first in the column marked Deformers ).

Select you armature in the ‘Object’ slot.

You’re done. So long as the vertex group of the hair is a valid bone name for this armature it will bind those specific vertices to that specific bone.

Hope that helps,
Cheers,
Dj.