Slow Renders (help with workflow please!)

So I’ve been working with blender for a few months now and have gotten comfortible with it, but as my scenes have become more complex, I’ve noticed render speeds have greatly slowed my progress. I’ve been fairly careful about not overusing raytracing, but I still find myself waiting a lot, even on my fairly decent quad core.

Is this just part of the deal? I hear about multi-hour long renders on here, mine are still only a half hour or so…

Any tips? I know my question is general, but hopefully someone can point me the right way?

Cheers in advance!

Might want to check out the poly count in your scenes. I know that you can bake high poly meshes into a normal map and use that on a lower ploy model, but I haven’t figured out how to do that yet. Sometimes there’s nothing that you can do about long render times, comes with the game. Also, if you’re using AO, Approximate is faster, but not quite as good. Using hair particles, strand rendering is good, but not compatible with raytraced shadows. But I highly recommend using both AAO and strand rendering because the difference isn’t really that noticeable.

Becca

Are you are saying a half-hour per frame?

Optimize your scene. Move different parts on to different layers and figure out where the bottle neck is in your scene. For instance, I often setup a background layers set, a mid-ground layer set, and a foreground-layer set. I keep lights on their own layer, that way I can totally disable lights and render only with Ambient Occlusion.

It is hard to say without seeing the scene.

Are you using an external renderer?

My poly counts vary, but are always reasonable. Also when I try to do a test render with my settings using a low poly model, a lot of times the render is still pretty slow. It’s mostly AO and raymirror causing the bog down. Sometimes I wonder if I should set everything up without those, and then just kick them in at the end.