Smooth - Help for a total newby

Hello
I am total newby that is trying to get a decent smoothing on 2 objects. One is a wheel of a car, the other bottle. Both are 3Ds max imports. I have tried the smooth button and subdivision surface modifier but I am getting a satisfactory result. I am getting better results in cinema 4D, but I don’t want to learn cinema 4D so I thought maybe someone could tell me where I going wrong.

[ATTACH]147270[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]147267[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=CONFIG]147268[/ATTACH]
Above is a render with smooth and the 2nd is with sub divide. Neither is very satisfactory.

I attach a blender file that contains both objects.

Many thanks

You need to do a couple of things.

1. weld the vertices. Go into edit mode(tab) and press a to select all vertices. Then press ctrl v and select remove doubles.
  2. recalculate normals,… again in edit mode, select all faces and press Ctrl n

edit: just looked at the scene file. You will also need to get rid of the triangles in the mesh so that it subdivides properly. You can do this partially by selecting all faces and selecting convert tris to quads (control F menu) There will still be a number of areas that need to be corrected from there.

Many thanks for the advice. Below is the result following your advice, adding smoothing and subdivide modifier. The bottle is much better, but the wheel is not quite round.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]147374[/ATTACH]

I tried the advice quoted below but I am struggling as I cannot find a way to partially select faces. I presume that I should be in Edit mode. Any more advice would be very welcome.

The lumps in the wheel are a result of the faces not being clean and even. There are a lot of triangles there and those will pull the mesh in odd ways.