Smoothing groups etc(set smooth/set solid)

I must be missing something here. I’ve been using blender for a while now 2-3 yrs mainly the game engine… but I just can’t get the set smooth/set solid to work with the auto-smooth angle that I set… not matter what I do… the manual said that if you turn on auto smooth it affects the faces set to smooth… well I’ve tried a few times… and no luck… I’ve played with the setting… and have tried finding tutorials etc. The only tuts I could find used the facesplit modifier… I don’t want to use this because I dont’ want my mesh to be cut into bits

Can anyone show me how you get it to work? It’s impossible to model objects if I can’t set the smoothing values of the faces accurately.

Also does anyone know if there is a hinge from edge/face tool that creates new wedges of faces along an edge?

Any help or links to tuts would be awesome thanks!

Hello
the “auto-smooth” applies function will smooth the entire object…and it’s easy to use…just press the “Set smooth” button after enabling the “Auto smooth” one! :wink:
Probably, it’s better to enter Edit mode, select the faces you want “solid” or “smooth” and press the desired button.
If you need even more control, you can “split” the selected/desired faces with Y key ( thin side of a coin for ex.)
Bye

Hi Otto thanks for the reply… I tried that but it still has no effect other than making the entire mesh smooth… no matter what angle I set for auto-smooth… even with it on… before I hit set smooth. It’s either smooth or hard… I’ve even checked by viewing the vertex normals. I really don’t want to have to split the mesh… this makes it very hard for modelling. It seems the only way I can get it to work is to split the mesh.

“Auto Smooth” only works for rendering. It’s a great feature, but you can’t see what it looks like in the 3D view – you have to render.

If you can live with not having a real-time preview of the effect, all you need is auto-smooth.