Smoothing model - edges problem

Hi guys! I’m a noobie blender student. Ihave the follow problem. I am trying to convert a model to 3D printing. I got a basic pepakura file, I creased some edges and applied the subdivision surface modifier. When I got the final result I faced some irregular surfaces, they aren’t smooth neighter regular…they look weird. Could you help me to solve or minimize thsi effects?

I attached some pics

Thank you!!

1 Like

do you have the blend file?

Think the subdivision applied might be a downfall here. Otherwise I would suggested to just Ctrl+B and bevel the edges. But with a subdivision surface already applied that would end up looking similar to what you have now.

Yes my friend, I do. Do you wanna It to check?

Hello, I not applied the subdivision surface definitively. I can do some adjusts yet

Yes friend.i’ll try.

1 Like

OK!! how Can I send it to you? I noobie in this forum yet.

@Ninja82871 Just drag and drop the file into the chatbox. If it is too large then a hosted site like a google drive or file share site link would be required and you can just cut and past the link into the chatbox as well.

1 Like

Thank you my friend, here is the file. If you could help me I really apreciate.Dark Kabuto Blue4.blend (582.4 KB)

No problem. I will take a peek once the render I am doing right now finishes.

1 Like

@Ninja82871
This is what I was saying about using the bevel modifier. The triangle inset areas would need some additional loops to make them triangular again but you can see the result without adding a huge amount of geometry just bevels.

Before adjusting the bevel thickness and segment count.

This is with the Ctrl+B bevel added to the selected edges.

Again this is just a quick look before I get back to working on a project again but as I mentioned the triangle sections could use either an inset along the inner wall sections to help hold the shape a little better.