Smoothing problem + modelling question

(MasterDomino) #1

Hello everybody!

Edit: Smoothing problem solved, one more modelling question in my third post of this thread.

I am relatively new to blender and now I have a problem modelling an ammunition ring for toy guns. The model itself is basically finished (not sure if there would be a better way to model it, but I guess so… :o)

My problem is that when I smooth it now, it happens to have weird looking lines on the model (see picture). I have already removed doubles and also recalculated the normals. The problem is still there.

http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/7481/weirdsmoothfe0.jpg

Also when I draw the normals, they seem to point in different directions quite randomly (see picture).

http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/509/weirdnormalswz0.jpg

Does anyone know what might be wrong here? Do I have to remodel the mesh?

Here is also the .blend-file.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Greetings, MasterDomino

0 Likes

(CD38) #2

In edit mode, select all (Akey) then Ctrl-N -> Recalculate normals outside. Also turn on Autosmooth in the Mesh panel.

0 Likes

(MasterDomino) #3

CD38, thank you for your answer.

Wow, ok.

Now I am really confused.
Because as I said above I already did recalculate the normals outside…

And that for about 5 times and it didn’t work. Now when I did it again, it worked perfectly. Strange. Is it possible that there was something wrong (bug?), which was then fixed again, now that I restarted blender (between modelling and writing this post…).

Because I am sure I did it a several times and it didn’t work… but now it does. Maybe I overlooked something else.

Anyways, it works now, so thanks for your answer, sorry for my boring question… :wink:

Greetings, MasterDomino

0 Likes

(FuzzMaster) #4