So Many Questions

I’m fairly new to Blender (found it two months ago), and I’m finding it very frustrating to learn. Rather than bombard the support forums with twenty basic questions per day, I’m wondering if there is some approach that will make it easier to do what I want.

Example - I’m mapping images to faces of the default cube. Today, they will only go on top of the cube, and I want my image on the front. Yesterday it worked fine. So, another question to support.

I’m not stupid (teach at tertiary level in computer science programs), have a lot of experience with other aspects of computers (eg programming) and graphic applications (pretty good with photoshop/gimp). I’m usually a very good self learner. I’ve got several references (Essential Blender, a few others) and have read the online NoobtoPro, manual, etc. And yet I can’t figure out why my image goes on top of the cube and not on the front, like it did yesterday.

I know Blender is not designed to be intuitive, but rather to be efficient for experienced users. However the learning curve seems to be extremely steep. I’m contemplating having to spend a year studying how to reliably assign textures to faces, which shouldn’t be that hard, and anyone in support will wonder what the problem is. So, is there any alternative to asking 20 basic questions a day? The community here is great and has been very helpful, but I really don’t want to become a complete pain.

So, is there any alternative to asking 20 basic questions a day?

What’s wrong with asking tons of questions?
You don’t want to be pain right. Don’t worry just ask away
everyone else does.:smiley:
Also use search. Many of the questions you can think
of have been asked and answered many times already.

Thanks JDA, I’ll take that as carte blanche :smiley: Hope I’ll be in a position to answer a few someday.