So what is the Blender 2.6x method for achieving IPO style control?

I just tried to import a very simple chain and sprocket model [built in 2.49b]. It is constrained so that rotating one gear spins every other gear and sprocket on the model. The chain is a double-link mesh that follows a curve, and moving along the Y axis spins the chain ~to match the sprocket. The chain uses an IPO driver to map the Z rotation of the gear to the Y location of the chain ~and it works great.
http://i271.photobucket.com/albums/jj125/Gizmojunk/Elevator_Gears.gif
Blender 2.64a seems unable import this by simply opening the Blend file. [WTH?]
So opening this in 2.64a breaks the functionality of the chain rotating in step with the sprockets.

Is there a method to do this ~this simply in 2.6x?

It can be done exactly the same way you described, the animation system just isn’t compatible between 2.4x and later versions. You’d just have to set up constraints again.

Thanks very much (I’m still new to Blender 2.6x). I will try to rebuild them; but I do not see any IPO interface… (Is it gone?)

If Blender 2.49b still has enough users, this is something IMO that Blender 2.6x should have [should have had] added to it; automated compatibility adjustment. If Blender 2.6x loads a 2.49 file, it should be able to extrapolate equivalent constraints ~or at the very least give a warning that the older constraint systems could not be mimicked.

I’m not 100% what is the IPO interface, but it might be the graph editor. and in the graph editor, you can change from F-Curve-mode to drivers.

Thank you; looking at it, this does appear to be the updated IPO interface.

What I’ve noticed is that Blender loaded the file with my IPO driver intact ~but non functional. What I mean is, the IPO driver used the value of a gear’s Z rotation, to change the chain’s Y location (causing it to spin around the sprockets).