[SOLVED] Compositing two Cycles outputs together? (2.79) Luminance Masking

Hello! This is my first post, so if I’ve overlooked a solution, please point it out and I’ll happily be on my way.

I’m trying to do more or less exactly what @Pootle attempted back in 2014:

TLDR: Take two different textures and composite them together in a single Cycles tree.

In my case, I can get one image texture with alpha to show up over another image texture (took all night, but I’m new to Blender), but what I need to do is integrate a third texture as a luminance mask.

Blender, or at least Cycles, doesn’t seem to use that term, so it simply means applying BW data as Alpha (black=transparent, white=opaque).

As can be seen in my node tree below, I have the “base layer” texture of burlap along the bottom. In the middle, my alpha transparency 2nd image, and the mask texture (generated from an animated Musgrave node) along the top.

In image 1, the two image textures composite just fine. In image 2, you can see the desired “cloud” effect from the Musgrave generating a BW version of the transparent image.

In image 3, I plug the BW data from the Musgrave+Transparency mix in as a Factor, and come away with a mess. Note the undesired white areas not covered by the spreading area of black.

I’m currently trying to plug in a Mix RGB node in various places with various settings, but so far no luck. I’m too new to the forum to attach a .blend. Sorry. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated!

EDIT: I should mention that applying the transparent image file to the underlying burlap texture is not an option. The idea is to reveal and hide pregenrated text and images throughout the course of the animation.

http://pasteall.org/blend/

Can you tell I’ve been up all night? Didn’t even occur to me to link externally. :unamused:

http://pasteall.org/blend/index.php?id=51698