[solved] Wavefront obj (made by ArchiCAD) materials missing in 2.5b

Hi,
I’m an architect who wants to render ArchiCAD-made houses in Blender. I have the options to export from ArchiCAD through 3DS (obsolete) or Wavefront.

The ArchiCAD Wavfront exporter is quite tricky, since it puts non-ASCII chars into the obj and mtl files, but I can remove them.

After importing into 2.5b (Debian Linux), there is a correct geometry, but all the materials seem to have the same numbers (intensities, etc), obviously the script didn’t import the mtl file (from the same directory).

The mtl file has no non-ASCII chars in its filename/path or in itself.

How to fix it?

Is it possible to import the mtl directly? Should I try to repair the files manually?

(With the Google Sketchup I can make a collada from the 3DS, but it also isn’t improrted to the Belnder, so I cannot render at all :frowning: )

You could always post a simple example that shows the problem on the bug tracker so it gets fixed.

Also think they may have fixed the non-ascii character problem after the last beta release.

Posting things into bug tracker was always too difficult for me, but I’ll give it a try. At blender.org?

Have you tried importing the same model in Blender 2.49? I don’t have ArchiCAD myself so I cannot test, but I remember that with some export settings ArchiCAD .obj files imported very nicely (including materials) whereas with other settings the materials would get lost. Sorry for not being more specific, but this way you could at least test if this is really a regression or if ArchiCAD’s export settings were not correct.

In the blender 2.5 help menu there is a ‘Report a Bug’ option that takes you directly to the bug tracker.

I’ll give it a try.

Otherwise, is there any 3D formats that blender 3.5 reads smoothly? 3DS odesn’t work, collada didn’t work for me, again, Wavefront also.

My goal is not to fix bugs, but to find a working solution.