Some advice for absolutely newby

Hello, everyone!
I am absolute beginner in modelling, recently I have decided to try to create my own game in Unity, I am very passionate about cars, so I have concept of my game in my head and I really need unlicensed car models, to make working more suitiable for me, I have decided to create my own model, I don’t have any experience in making models, so I have took Audi S5 as reference and tried to make a mix of my imagination and Audi, this is my first attemp:/

, I know that it looks horrible, but, as I mentioned, it’s my first try. So my question is, do you have any good turtorials of how to make cars in blender, also, why does my car look so ‘angular’? And the last question, how can I model the rear view of the car, because the modelled front view bothers me and I can’t see the rear reference. Also, would be very happy if you give me some advice.

1 Like

in my opinion, your edge flow should follow the shapes of your car, which is not the case for the moment, your current topology will make the modelling harder, also you don’t need so many edge loops at the beginning. You can create separate parts, for example the car hood is a separate object in real life, do the same in 3D. Once the whole shape seems good, you can give your object a Subdivision Surface modifier and sharp some angles with additional edges. Anyway you’ll find a lot of tutorials on this topic.

2 Likes

Thank you so much for your advice, also, I have a question, can I somehow place image of the reference in the middle of my model? For example, I need to make the rear view of my car, but I see the front made model, and It bothers me

I’m not sure what you mean, what you can do is duplicate your image and make it rotate on the Z axis and on the X axis, so that when you choose right or left or front view you will always see the blueprint, then move the copy in the 3D view so that it matches the mesh position.

Example of what it gives: