some newbie questions

what i would like to achieve is this:
if i click on an object, an animation should play and “hello!” should be printed to the console.

this is my setup:

there is a [mouse over] and [mouse button] sensor that feed into an [add] controller and that into an [action] actuator.

the problem is, the animation starts but only plays to the end if the mouse stays on the object. if the mouse moves away the animation stops. how can i correct this?

for printing “hello!” i use a message that triggers a [script] controller. the script only contains 1 print statement but “hello!” always gets printed twice. why is that?

1. For the animation playing problem, use Play Stop instead of just “Play” for the animation’s play mode (in the Action actuator).
  2. “Hello” gets printed twice most likely because the message is getting sent twice (once when the mouse clicks and is over the object, and another time when that evaluates as false). I’m not very good with Game Logic Tic Pulses, though - someone else who knows more could help you out.

hm… i don’t find “play stop”, just “loop stop”. i experimented with all modes and none worked like i want.

do you have an idea how i could best achieve that “hello!” only gets printed once?

loop stop, and set the click or mouseover (best use click) to TAP. that means even if you hold it, it goes on, then off till you release the mouse

hm… with “tap” no animation happens at all.

“Play” plays the animation one time and stop when the endframe is reacht.
So play for the motion actuator is okay. You can fix this, when you use a message sensor.

Attachments

you might want to read this thread: "double execution of a Python controller"
and “A word on pulses”

Why your action actuator does not play until the end - I do not know. What version are you using?

i use the 2.56 beta. didn’t download 2.56a yet.