Some thoughts and questions

Hi. I’m fairly new to 3D, but I’ve been reading tutorials, wikis,and documentation for a while, trying to learn everything I can. I’ve been mostly playing around and testing various features, all the while trying to wrap my mind around this incredibly complex world of polygons, topology, armatures, shapekeys, and all the rest. It’s challenging, but I love every moment of it.
Blender has been a savior to me in all of this, being free as it is. This is quite refreshing compared to the big bucks I would have had to shell out for Maya, or something similar, which is not possible for me. But despite this, trying to use and understand Blender has been a bit of an ordeal. After thinking about it for a while, I’ve come to some interesting conclusions.
First of all, I don’t know how to use Blender efficiently to come up with great images. Whenever I use it, I feel like I’m fighting with the interface the whole time. I used the Personal Learning Edition of Maya for a while, before I found Blender, and it was somewhat different. The learning curve was, of course, ridiculously steep, but once I began to understand it, everything was smooth and relatively easy. I still didn’t make anything worth looking at, but I could use the interface efficiently. I think the reason for this is that Maya’s interface has a focus; everything is set up in a way that works with everything else really well, and it’s organized perfectly. It just makes sense. I have not had the same experience with Blender.