Sound branch (2.5)

Greetings!

I’m new to blender development and took up the task of refactoring the sound internals of it.

As my development is now that far, that you notice something as user, I decided to post here.

I have written down all information on this page: http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/User:NeXyon/Sound

So if you do a checkout now and compile, sound should work in the Game Engine (you will have to create a test file with 2.4x to try out!).
What doesn’t work in GE is: 3D and CD sound, as well as most of the audio settings, that’s not implemented yet.

I’d like to get a lot of responses if it works or if there are errors. Please include some basic systems specs as well as the build system you used.

Regards,
neXyon

This sounds really interesting. Will there be any benfit also for animation as well? For example to “add” sound file to some object in a 3d scene. This object would act as a sound source. During rendering the sound would be updated as a 3d sound according to the camera position?

Well yes, the first target is to restore 2.4x functionality as far as possible. I guess CD Audio and the Audio window will be dropped, the anyway non-functional ping-pong looping maybe too.

If everything is working so far, I already thought about several extensions that could be made, one of them is exactly that what you mentioned above. Another would be sound editing with nodes, you could for example add an echo effect or whatever. Many people also would like to have a jack audio backend, that should also be done easily as soon as the system is ready for extensions.

Regards

Hi neXyon

You should get in contact with someone named Jorge Bernal, he’s also interested in improving sound on the GE side of Blender, he also made the patch in this thread
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=160447

If possible you two could work together on improving the sound system to something that truly could be considered world class.