space and stuff

1. how could i make a nice asteroid belt?

2. When i put a texture on a sphre it doesnt cover the whole sphere, it comes up once on each face. How could i fix this?

3. Does anyone Know some goodyafray tutorial sites? I cant find any…

These would really help, thanx.

I’m a newbie, but here is an asteroid I created:

http://www.dealexpert.net/upload3/image.php?name=asteroid.jpg?

I simply used a cube, subdivided it a couple of times, scaled it a bit to elongate it, went into edit mode and prodded and poked a few vertices. I then gave it a marble texture mapping to col and nor. I rendered it with the unified renderer. For lighting I used the traditional 3 point lighting technique. A world environment with stars completed it.

I know it’s not very good, but it is easy to do in Blender.

Hope this helps a bit.

you can actually render things in gmax?

your answer here will be very biased towards blender

[all I’ve heard about gmax is that it isn’t that great, and I know it is intended for extending games: not as a 3ds max version stripped down or a demo]

1. yes, you haven’t uv mapped the image it seems.

I’d imagine you just went into face select mode and selected your image [or did you do something with the materials?]

well anway, to get an image on a sphere [particularly with uv mapping] is a rather complex topic. do a search [for mapping, uv will not return any results] and read through the several threads on the topic

if you mean just material settings, set it to use the orco coordinates [default] and set the image texture as being mapped to sphere. this will wrap it around a sphere like a map

1. I would suggest you get used to blender before even considering yafray

As a space scene creation fan, I must reply to this to help you :smiley: