Specular map input in nodes?

Hi guys, complete noob here in cycles, been using it for maybe a week and I need to know, where is the input for the specular maps in the node editor? For that matter, is it possible to add specular to a material like in internal?

Wow, that’s a lot to follow. Guessing I connect a non-color data normal to a glossy shader or something?
happy cycles XD

You should connect specular texture to fac input (grey) in node which is mixing diffuse and glossy (with optional colorramp to reduce it strength). Normal texture as non-color data goes thru normal map node into normal inputs (blue) of glossy and diffuse shaders.

It appears I am lost. Help?

Try mixing two BSDF shaders (glossy and diffuse), not image texture with shader which are different types of nodes.

And your mix node is wrong, it’s mixrgb and should be mix(shader).

Just look at colors of input/output dots and try to connect them that way.

It works, but its substandard at best.

I need these sandbags to be as real as possible. Including but not limited to specular, what should I do with them? I’m about to unwrap and individually paint hundreds of these lol.

Here’s a quick example for the spec map placement:

Use the color ramp as a kind of “levels” adjustment to crush them down to bring certain areas very high or very low. Pretty much, the pure whites in your spec will be fully glossy, and full blacks will be fully diffuse. You can mess around with adding the diffuse map to the glossy node to lessen the brightness of the gloss, or leave it white. For the sand bags, I would suggest not using full white, but plug the diffuse map into the glossy as well. Also, play with the roughness setting. Make it just rough enough that is necessary since it takes cycles longer to render high glossy roughness as opposed to low. I have a burlap diffuse, spec, and bump around here somewhere. If you need it I can try to find it and post it.