Speed Modelling Contest Idea

Hi just a thought didn’t know where else to put this and wanted to see what people thought of this idea.

When we do SMC why not have a number of different categories in attempt to help people learn different aspects of Blender in different ways.

For instance you can still have the SMC but instead of looking at loverly renders time should be spent on purely improving modelling skills.

The best of this sessions SMC could then be taken into STC (speed texturing contest)

The best of the STC could be taken into the SRC (Speed Rendering Contest)

So you have people working on contests that take their fancy and improve the skills that they want to focus on …if ya see what i mean.

Like i said don’t know if i posted this in the right place if not soz :frowning: but could ya all let me know what ya think.

Speed rendering contest would be useless, and would have to do with the machine doing the rendering.

Hey,

I’m no expert, but I have been to #smc and done some **cs…

When we do SMC why not have a number of different categories in attempt to help people learn different aspects of Blender in different ways.
Well, I would say that while ( In my experiance ) I’ve learned some thing with almost every time, the goal of smc’s isn’t to teach people.

For instance you can still have the SMC but instead of looking at loverly renders time should be spent on purely improving modelling skills.

Well, I’m not sure if you know how the smcs usually work, but its a competition for X amount of time, and then 20mins for rendering,

With that info my opinion is that the “problem” is on the voters side,
Most of the time, renders are non-spec, just showing off the model, I feel that often the voters vote for the prettiest, but I wouldn’t say that contestants have that goal…

I agree that a speed rendering challenge would be really silly…

As for different kinds of smc’s from this thread on BA,

Other Unique Contests:

• SAC (Speed Animation Contest)