Speeding an animation up in edit modes?

Does anybody of you know some tricks about that? The problem is not rendered final work, but running an animation in object, edit, etc. modes. I guess i messed up by applying subdivision surface modifier, but on the other hand i had to do that, because i couldn’t give up possibility to sculp my model with results be showed directly in edit and object modes (i’m a beginner and i hate retopology).

I want to speed my animation up simply to have better view on a situation: lipsync, how fast my character is moving, etc. Right now it’s around 6 FPS, while it should be 24. The problem surely is high resolution of the mesh, but decimate modifier doesn’t seem to work now (it’s even slower with it).

So… i wouldn’t like to destroy my HD character now, as i already rigged him and added shapekeys, yet i want 24 FPS. Is there some kind of preview, where i could quickly check my animation out from the camera view as some low res frames?

Have you tried rendering to Open GL frames? Very fast (compared to full rendering that is) and a quick & not so dirty method of previz. For scrubbing & playback in the UI, maybe a low-poly animation proxy figure? I make mine by duping my main “beauty” mesh first off, strip off any fps-munching modifiers, and usually remove at least 1/2 the edge loops, knock the hands, feet and facial detail down to a minimum, and can then pump put 30fps in most cases. Also, make sure you’re only viewing what you need to view. Hide or banish to another hidden layer anything not needed to help you scope out the animation, including working windows like the Action Editor, Graph Editor, NLA, etc. These need not be closed, just window-shaded so the data is not showing.

As i’m checking this out now, it gives me around 6 FPS too.

Mine hasn’t got any (unapplied) modifiers. But can you please translate the rest of your advices to me :o, and how to do those?
Like:

-duping mesh off
-remove at least 1/2 the edge loops