Spines off of long tail

So I’m just sitting here chugging away at my rigging, things are going pretty well so far, when I encounter what I assume will be a problem once I attach the finished rig to my model.

http://fc07.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2013/283/a/2/untitled_by_jaderavenwing-d6q0gao.png

I noticed that when I bend the spines coming off the tail that they don’t follow along at a nice and even distance, they squish in on the rest of the tail. When attached to the mesh I assume that this will end up creating some strange deformations, and I’d like to try and get this fixed before I actually attach it in case I have to add more bones/weight them/etc. Is there a constraint that will prevent them from folding in on the rest of the rig? Or is there another workaround?

I’m still a bit new to modelling and rigging so I don’t yet know all the tricks there are to it. I appreciate any help that can be given, and if you guys would like to see the .blend I can do that.

Really hard to see what is going on there, had to examine the pics 3 times before I saw the problem, so I could be way off on this…

Looks to me like you have a chain of bones that is the center of the tail, and 2 secondary bone chains running from the center chain outwards to the side. Looks like the 1st bone in the secondary chains are children of bones in the center chain of bones, but the location of them isn’t at the tip of a bone in the center chain. So they are offset and that’s probably what’s causing the problems.

Try adjusting the center chain of bones so that the tip of the bone that is the parent of the secondary chain’s base bone is at the same location. The 1st bone’s root (in the secondary chain) should be at the same location as it’s parent’s tip. And make the secondary chain base bone a ‘connected’ child of it’s parent.

Randy

Sorry, didn’t mean for it to be confusing.

And weelll. I was going to say that I think that would solve the problem, because it makes sense but uh…