Splash Screen?

Do you think its possible to make a splash screen when someone runs your game .exe?

Like when you run a PC game it will bring up a splash screen (i think its called) and it will display for a few seconds then the game will load, any ideas on how and if we could do this in blender?

Well proberly not “in” blender, maybe this would be an external thing?

Brave.

A splash screen isn’t anything more than an image, so why wouldn’t it be possible? Even in the game engine it should be possible.
I’m not an GE expert, though :wink:

Yes i know, i mean display it before the games actualy loads, go run a PC game, you will see a image display for a few then the game will load up.

You might be able to do this by having BlenderPlayer first load a file that is only your image, and have the game framing settings set to the images resolution, then, after a timer reaches a certain point, it loads the next file with the Game>Start New Game actuator. I’ve never tried it, but it’s worth a shot.

couldn’t you have a picture on a plane in a scene, that has an always—and----scene change scene… Wouldn’t that first scene show until the next is loaded?

I don’t think he wants the picture to fill the whole screen at first, just like the splash image that opens with Blender, except instead of having Blender load in the background, it’d just be your desktop. Correct me if I’m wrong Braveheart.

No your right there Dim, again if you go open up a game on your PC you will see an image display on the screen then the screen will go black and the game will load.

Did my suggestion work for you?

Yah, I know what you mean by a splash screen. I’m unsure how you would go about doing that seperately from the blend file. Perhaps there is a way once it’s been exported to an .exe?

Yea, as Dim said maybe it can be done with the Blenderplayer, basicly to do it you need a seprate program that would display the image, then open the .exe or .blend file after time,