Star Trek Spaceship WIP

Hi, I’m a little new to blender and I want to do a Star Trek-like spaceship. I have questions as how to go about it. I have drawn it in a few angles and am now trying to do in 3D. Also: how do you make the differents parts? Do you make all of them different meshes or somehting? About the engines, how do you make them glow? Need help plz.

Attachments

First, in the program that you used to make the blueprints, make sure that

• the three blueprints are at the exact same scale (e.g., if the top view show the distance from the nose to the tail is 324 pixels, the side view should also show the same distance as 324 pixels)
  • the three blueprints are square (they are the same number of pixels in both width and height)
  • the three blueprints are the same size (all three blueprints are the same number of pixels wide, and high)
  • in each blueprint the center of the ship must be in the geometric center of the blueprint.

The way I do it is to divide the 3D window into three parts. The left half of the 3D area is window 1, the right half is split horizontally into window 2 and window 3. The manual will show you how to split windows.

Hover the cursor over window 1, and hit NUM7. The lower left corner should say “y-x”. Hover over window 2 and hit NUM1, then over window 3 and NUM3.
Window 1 will be the top view, window 2 will be front view, and window 3 will be side view.

Now on window 1’s lower edge hit the View button and select Background Image. A dialog will appear. Click Use Background Image button. Next to “image”, click the folder button. Find your top view blueprint and hit Select Image. Change the Size value until the image covers the desired number of Blender Units. Write down the value of Size, as you will need it for the other blueprints. Click the X box in the blackground dialog.