Starfighter: What am I even doing?!

Hey everybody,

So yeah, I just went back through my big folder of renders, and when comparing them to many of the others I’ve seen on this website I realized… THEY LOOK LIKE CRAP!

Obviously I need to step up my game, but it’s impossible to find any good tutorials on the internet for free, (I’m a broke college student). I feel like I’m trying to run up a big pile of bowling balls. Every time I think I’m making progress, I end up realizing that the ground beneath me has just given out, and I’m no closer to the top than when I started.

Granted, looking back, I can see that I’ve come a long way, but it seems that everything I attempt ends up running into so many problems that it isn’t satisfying to complete.

Okay, here’s what I’m working on, and right off the bat, I’ll bet one of you pros out there is gonna find something wrong with my workflow, or whatever.

Just a little help/input is all I ask.

Thanks.

Alright, so I trashed that piece of crap and came up with this today. I’m actually pretty satisfied with it so far. I’d love to know what you guys think:

http://oi51.tinypic.com/p55br.jpg

I like it.

Your work does not look like crap lol, I really like the last two renders. I did notice that the rockets on the wings look a bit flat, this might just be me (or the lighting) but I thought id mention it. I think it would look good if you add more of those small creases that you already added on the basis and the cockpit.

rockets/missiles look like they are floating, I’d suggest modeling some kind of attachment/release mechanism for each.

That’s really the only critique I have, looks pretty sold. I can imagine some fun airfoil effects happening in an atmospheric flight animation with this design, even if that isn’t what your going for it looks nice.