Starting from scratch. Again.

Hi, I’m pretty new to Blender, but I started learning the basics a while back. I lost my computer and just installed Blender again today, but I think I need to start all over. This time I’m wondering a few things:

Do you need any preliminary talents before starting Blender?
Do you need to have passed College level Geometry, Physics, etc.? Do I need to know how to draw?

What would it take to do an unprofessional short in Blender?
Not something as beautiful and complex as Elephant’s Dream (excellent job, by the way), but like a little five minute animation. Would it take an ultra fast PC, a render farm, or could I do it on a 64mb graphics card?

How long does rendering a movie described above take?
Will I have to wait for a day before it finishes rendering?

I have other questions, but that’s enough for now.

Thanks in advance.

1. it depends how motivated you are

2. it depends how motivated you are [yes, a 64Mb gfx card is sufficent]

3. say, at 1 minute a frame [which probably means no motion blur, no/minimal osa, and minimal fancy raytracing] 5 minutes at 25fps would take a bit over two hours

Personally, I think the hardest part of making a good animation is a good idea and script. How hard the remainder of the task is depends largely on visual style.

For example, with a good script (doesn’t even need audio) you can maybe make two cubes interect in interesting ways and have your 5 minute animation done in a week or two - add music and sound effects to really give it some oomph! Progress to simple human/animal characters and it might take a month or two. Make those characters a bit more “evolved” with equally evolved scenes and you start looking at a long time, probably months to a year, just to make all the moves.