stereo-photogrammetry by hand

(jendrzych) #1

Well, I think it won’t be easy to expain my idea, because I don’t know how to upload pictures, but will try.

When You use blix camera calibration script there’s need to get some dimensions of real object. Sometimes it’s not possible to do it precisely enough or isn’t possible at all.

Some wise people invented some time ago a technique called stereo-photogrammetry. Using this technique (via sophisticated hardware and software) You can get exact dimentions of any objects having only stereo pairs of photos. All You have to know is: focal length of used camera; dimensions of used film/ccd sensor and distance between position of first shot and second one (parallel shots).

I’m an architect and often need to make a model of surroundings of space I work with, so I thought, that it could be nice to simulate stereo-photogrammetry in Blender to make my work easier and more efficient i.e. to get dimensions, that are hard or impossible to get on the spot, and moreover to have possibility of making any measurement I could need.

So I took two pictures of a table (stereopair), then launch Blendie, created two planes witch dimensions were exact dimensions of my camera sensor and distance betweet their centers equals distance between centres of my two shots. Next I UV-mapped them with taken pictures and in front of them, in the very centre of each one, I placed a camera which “f” was the same as I used to make those pictures. I had to set right relation between cameras and planes by hand – planes should exactly cover area bordered with dotted line (area masked with passepartout).
I mentioned this before, but it’s very important to make two perfectly parallel pictures, I mean that a certain specific point on both photos should lay on one horizontal line.