stereo rendering (for virtual reality)

First, I suppose I could briefly introduce myself. I am Clark Wise, a student at Valparaiso University, and I’m currently undertaking two independent studies. One involves Blender.

Here at VU, the College of Engineering has a Scientific Visualization Lab (SVL), which is a large virtual reality lab currently based off of a VisBox-X2. Even so, major upgrades and expansion will be soon in coming. The basic idea is that we have pairs of projectors, each with a linear polarizing lens filter. The user(s) wear polarized glasses, and with the overlayed images the user(s) see in 3D. I know that a number of users here are familiar and are experienced with passive stereo such as this, which is why I turn to you. :eyebrowlift:

My goals are to get renders, especially animations, to be viewable in striking 3D in the SVL. I have one significant setback: I’m a Blender newbie. I’ve been interested in Blender for quite a while, but only now have I begun to learn using it. All at once, I set off to learn about modeling, animation, a little python scripting, and (I assume) compositing in the process of accomplishing my goals. Eventually the incorporation of the game engine would be great, but I’ll save that for a later date.

Present Goals; I can think of two major parts:
Render in stereo. For the purposes of the VU SVL, the only differences in the “two” images be that the camera is moved slightly laterally from the other. I put “two” in quotes because it’s really one image – the two main projectors are set up as one double-wide desktop (such as in dual-monitor workstations where the second screen is just a continuation of the first and you can drag things from one to the other). From what I’ve read around this forum, using composite nodes to stitch together my rendered images/frames may be my ideal solution. However, I realize there are other options available, and I warmly accept all suggestions and opinions.