Strange Issue Of Missing Objects

Hello everyone and good day,

I’ll try to explain this as best I can.

Well, first, I was unable to rotate any bone in Pose Mode, but could successfully alter them in Edit Mode. After I closed Blender to try and resolve this issue, I noticed that my model was completely gone, I can’t see it in Object Mode or in the Outliner, and the bones only showed their root. Yet strangely enough, I can see the model in Edit Mode, and it’s definitely not hidden as I’ve hit alt + H multiple times.
This only applies to the main character model, as other objects in other layers other than the first and second are still visible, and work just fine.

I would just write this off and go to a backup copy I have, however this version that is having the issue has all the animations I’ve done for it up to this point and would rather not lose that.

So far, all I could think to do was restart Blender and restart my computer. I’m very new to it, and so have no idea what this issue is called or how I would ever go about resolving it.
I’ve also checked, and in the render tab, it’s showing that those layers should be visible. They don’t even show up when I render, only when I’m in Edit Mode.

My best guess is that the file somehow got corrupted, but I’m hoping it’s just something I’m overlooking.
If anyone can help me out, I would appreciate it greatly.

Wishing you all well,
-Matthios

Two possibilities I can think of:

1. Did you hit Alt-H in both Edit Mode and Object Mode? In Edit Mode, vertices, edges and faces are hidden; in Object Mode, entire objects are hidden.

2. Go to Pose Mode and hit ‘a’ a couple of times until you’re sure all the pose-able bones are selected, then hit Alt-g, Alt-s, Alt-r to make sure you haven’t animated some or all of the rig out into la-la land.

Try #1 first so you don’t lose work unless you absolutely have to.

Thank you for your response, Rontarrant,

I checked into both of your suggestions and nothing worked.