strange subdivide + smooth artifacts

greetings, I’m new to blender. When I add an uvsphere to the scene and start subdividing it with the subdivide button, and after that I set smooth and render, I get ugly artifacts. I really don’t know what’s happening, because for me the more subdivided a mesh is the more it should look smooth?

Here is the uvsphere without subdivide and with set smooth
http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/3204/10297110.png

here is the uvsphere after clicking subdivide 2 times and with set smooth. note the shading artifacts
http://img691.imageshack.us/img691/7009/56846161.png

blender version is 2.49b, platform is vista 64 bit (but blender 32 bit version)

If you want it smoothing use a subsurf modifier.
With just a subdivide you are creating flat surfaces between the original edges so smooth will have no effect in these areas, enhancing the original edges.

On the left the original, on the right subdivided two times.

but why it does not have artifacts when I click subdivide only one time in the uvsphere? Subdiving all its faces more than one time makes those artifacts appear, I really want to understand why this happen after the second subdivide

Smoothing affects adjacent faces. I’ve simuted the effect with a bezier circle. Switching between vector and bezier handles simulates this flat/smoothing effect. With no subdivision it smooths across the whole face, with subdivision it cannot do this because you have a flat plane between each angular face. The more subdivisions, the greater the effect. With one division it still shows this but to a less noticeable degree.
http://www.screencast.com/users/blenderwho/folders/Jing/media/90574ba8-276c-4a93-afc5-047609cf11ab