Stylized Van Helsing

Saw 2004’s Van Helsing again after a really long time and got inspired to do this. I love the movie theme, the props, the ideas, the whole package. It was also funny to watch it now that I live in the Czech Republic… as I recognized every second location since the whole freaking movie was shot here.

This is my character:

I have had some time to get into different programs, so this is my first project using more industry standard packages. I used Marvelous Designer for all clothes, Zbrush for high frequency details, Painter for lookdev and Blender for all hard surface modeling, head sculpting, grooming, rigging. lightning and rendering.

These are the props:

Thumbnail

28 Likes

The models and textures look fantastic, but I think there’s a light issue with his pose. Holding that crossbow like this would be extremely uncomfortable: the bow would be pulling down quite a bit. I imagine the muscles in his upper right arm would be getting quite stiff from the effort. Still, this is more a presentation question. Great job!

2 Likes

You’re on the #featured row! :+1:

1 Like

Love the style, very cool

1 Like

can i ask you how do you’ve made such clean render of your character … do you’ve used a a high sample or used any kind of filter for this images? it looks great!

1 Like

Thanks for the opinion and for the comment, I did have some trouble chosing the position of that arm :smiley: but now you said, as you mentioned I could lower it a little, maybe it would be more natural to turn the arm so the crossbow is pulling outwards :blush: thanks!

@bartv Hello Bart! thanks very much, I appreciate it!

@Egan_T_Guenthers Hi Egan :slight_smile: yes I used a high sample value, all renders of the character were rendered at 2000 samples + denoiser. Also I did some sharpening in Photoshop (which everybody should do…) but it is important to know that the more samples the better it is going to look after sharpening.

3 Likes