Subdividing faces

Ok, yep, I’m new at this. But I have been trying very hard.
I am trying to use blender to model things for cnc cutting. Primarily wood carving.

I am using Inkscape to create vectors around an image that I plane to use as a displacement map. It’s a bird. And I’m trying to capture some of the texture of the feathers.

So, I have my greyscale image. I set up my Inkscape image size. I added the image to the file. I traced the image with Bezier curves to make a path around the image. I deleted the image from the file and saved the path as a standard .svg file.

Open blender, import svg file, fill, make a mesh from the curve, kept a copy of the curve, extruded the face about an inch, turned on 3D printing tab, set Degenerate to 0.00001, set overhang to 90, checked all, Make Manifold, and vwalla’ I have a manifold object that should be 3D printable and cnc cutable.

This is where the problem starts. http://stevemarti.com/from-2d-to-3d-turning-images-into-objects/ is a short tutorial on making 3D object from displacement maps. I can do what he diescribes, BUT, my finished object is just a plane and not an object with thickness a flat bottom and the desired texture on the top surface. It seems that what is happening is only the intersecting areas of the plane and my 3D object are making it through the modifier. I understand that. But Steve shows a different outcome, a flat bottom and some mass beneath the textured surface.

So, Blender Guru also talks about creating a displacement map when creating textures.