suggest approach: Bourne Supremecy inspired end credits

Trying to make my own version of movie end credits similar to the Bourne Supremacy (2nd Bourne film).

How would you suggest I approach this animation? What is the overall work flow I should use?

Tried a variety of approaches so far including:

• A sliding emitter object trailing halos dense enough to look like a line

• Hand animated extruding pipes

• Static planes being lit by animated spot lights running along the path

• Blend texture using a ramp color, trying to keyframe the x axis offset

None of these approaches are delivering the intended effect, but I’m not experienced enough to know if I’ve chosen the wrong approach, or if I just need to keep refining and learning one of the approaches above or something else entirely.

Are there any experienced Blender-ers who can suggest a viable path to achieving the animated highlighted line effect?

TIA!
-John

After a lot of experimenting, found the approach below to be the most efficient way to create the scene. This approach delivered usable results very quickly. Test rendering was pretty fast which is important since I have a fairly old computer. And once the framework was established, I could easily focus on tweaking and experimenting for the right effect without laborious rework.

• Create a tileable cube of rail structures
  • Create a spotlight with blue edges
  • Create and position emitters between some of the cube structure alleys
  • Add a particle system to emit spotlights that traverse the scene
  • Animate the camera movements

Early proof of concept render: http://youtu.be/j7D4t2XGmRs
More detailed notes arranged somewhat like a tutorial: http://potus98.wikidot.com/wiki:bourne-end-credits

I’m still open to better suggestions, but thought I’d share this progress in hopes of helping someone else. Thanks!