Sunset

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j204/butterflypoacher/render4aRAW.jpg

Here’s my first WIP thread. Comments, suggestions? I’m a newb so any constructive criticism is welcome.

Are you rendering with any AO?

Yes, the origional was 1920x1080 with OSA set to 16, but when I uploaded it it got downsized.

I think you mean OSA by AO… or am I wrong?

OSA is oversampling. AO is ambient occlusion. kind of like GI
hope im not confusing you further

No AO is Ambient Occlusion.

It makes the lamps illuminate spots that normally would not be. Its real tricky to get just right and you may have to turn the lamps down more than what you have them at now, but the results give you more realistic lighting.

what you have there now is alot of hard shadows. In real life there are hard shadows, but overlapping those hard shadows are lighter shadows where the light is reflected off objects. its like a sunray coming through a hole from window painted black. You see the ray of light as it hits the wall, but the wall will reflect some and actually illuminate the rest of the room. the rest that is not in direct sunlight from the ray. like even though the side of that house is not in direct sunlight, it will still get illumination from the sun. That would be a soft shadow. AO should give you this result with a little tweeking.

good luck and feel free to ask if you have any more questions.

Okay, I can’t find any information on how to check if AO is turned on (blender internal render). If someone can point me to a document I will be able to answer the question. (just got done searching the forums)

WOW that picture is breathtaking, I myself am a newb…you are what they call a "pro.’’ i am wondering how you did the backround sky, did you have an image pasted to a face of a cube… beutiful pic , very inspiring. =)

Lookin good so far. I like your attention to detail; the shingles are very well done, and so is the chimney.
Just a few crits: