Surfaces are greyish and dull

Hi,
I’m an architect planning using Blender to render models built in ArchiCAD, my CAD-program. My plan is to build the geometry and the materials of my houses in ArchiCAD, and then put them into preset scenes of light and background (what the ArchiCAD SE doesn’t manage well) and render them.

My problem is that regardless what I try, the Blender renderings become quite foggy and Grey. The first pic is an ArchiCAD internal rendering, watch the vivid colors of the grass, for example. On the Blender rendering, this material is dull, and if I add more light, it becomes overexposed-whitish.

In this scene I used a bit yellowish white spot light with constant falloff and a bluish ambient light. The materials are unchanged except for the ambient amount is decreased from 0.5 to 0.2 to avoid burning in of ambient light.

What is Your opinion, what can I try or check to bring in bright and vivid colors?

Any tips welcomed, thanks in advance.

Attachments

There are lots of variables. Grass material setting, what did you set?

Try using Version 2.5 with linear workflow enabled. To me, it seems to make a huge difference in render quality for exterior architectural scenes.

I have made some process, with a bit better results, decreasing Texture’s brightness to 0.6.

I added a .blend, too, although i had to remove some textures due to filesize constraints.

2.5: I have problems with 2.5 under Windows, and haven’t tried it under Debian (I don’t want to use different versions, but I’ll give it a try again.)

Thanks

Attachments

3.blend (628 KB)

And a full render with current grass.

Attachments