Suzuki Wagon R+

I’m going to model a car I used to have. It’s a 2004 Suzuki Wagon R+, which has also been marketed in Europe as Opel Agila. I’ve attempted modeling other cars in the past, but this is probably the first one I’m going to work on seriously and complete, hopefully. Please keep in mind that I’m a relatively beginner at 3d modeling.

At the moment I’ve completed a relatively detailed modeling cage. This is not a wireframe, there are no surfaces or polygons yet, just a faceless mesh. The advantage of doing this is that now I have a good 3d reference I can “fill” later on with polygons. Also, compared to other workflows, I essentially already almost have a complete model to toy with:

Updates will follow over the next days

Interesting way of staring the model, would you mid posting screenshots of edit mode? I would like to see how dense your verticies are.

ive never seen anyone model a car like that, i like it though, an interesting way to start for sure :slight_smile:

1044 vertices so far, with the mirror enabled. They haven’t been placed with regard to polygon geometry yet, but just to define edges, gaps, important bodywork details:

Please note that I’m using custom colors that are easier to see on blueprints. Here I have selected everything.

And a top view with everything unselected. By the way, I don’t have blueprints for the top view, this is what I’ve come up with and I think it’s relatively accurate:

fill this baby with some faces, im really interested to see what this will look like :slight_smile:

Very good looking splinecage! Looks professional allready. Lets see what kind of a mesh you come up with. IMO, good splinecage is half of the work when modeling cars. Makes things alot easyer.

If you’re that clueless take it to a garage.

Laser pointer