Sword

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/22480908/Blender/Sword.png

This is my first project that I’ve done without help of a tutorial. Its a little bit simple right now but I was looking for some feed back on the sword itself. I rendered it with cycles at around 2000 passes.

Okay good start.
The setting for the gem seems a little flat. (make the gem peak around the underside of the setting)
The area on the handle right next to it has some creases.
You need to add a tarnish texture to the hilt and handle.
Add some scratches, but make it stronger on the handle.
Try making the middle of the blade duller and the edges bright. (as if it were sharpened on the edges. Don’t follow perfectly straight lines. Fudge it a little.)
Tray adding a emblem to the base of the blade.

Well, I presume it is meant as a fantasy prop, so no need to go after photorealism farther. This provided, materials are good and modeling clean. I cannot enter into more details, for image is small and a bit dark.
Pushing a step along functionality, consider that the blade should not be sharpened close to hilt.

It’s a great model but the materials make it look a little like a cartoon drawing around the hilt. You don’t have to add black lines to draw out the detail, so long as it’s there it’ll look just fine with plain metal.

Actually a darken tint in the groves is realistic. Tarnish and gunk usually builds up in groves and crevices that aren’t touched much.

Well, these aren’t really grooves on the handle guards. They’re just black edges.

Yeah originally the handle was just silver the black lines are actually raised up parts not grooves I was trying to make the handle look better than just a plain silver (didn’t work out so well) so i’m going to probably remodel the handle part. Ill post a new image with some of the changes today or tomorrow.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/22480908/Blender/sword2.png