Tablets and Blender

Hello all! I am fairly new to Blender and am interested in how a tablet can work with Blender. I know people that can draw well and would like to use a tablet with Blender to draw help make their drawings 3D. Also, I and a few people are interested in how tablets work with sculpt mode. Could you please describe how they work and if there are any requirements for the tablet that we use? Also, can any of you recommend a specific brand or model of tablet to use?

Thanks a bunch!
-M

Hi

This relates to a question I have been meaning to ask for a while.

To answer your question, currently, there is tablet pressure support in both the sculpt tools and the texture paint tools, both of which are very useful. For the texture paint (UV/Image editor), go to properties and open the paint tools window. The little “p” buttons next to opacity, size etc toggles pressure sensitivity.

For sculpt, go the the menu that appears in the 3D window header when sculpt mode is turned on. There you will find “Input devices” and there you can choose how the size of the brush and the strength of sculpt is determined by pressure sensitivity.

My tablet is a Graphire II and is meant to work with Blender immediately. It does when my tablet drivers are working but that is a seperate issue entirely.

Now for my question, in one of the test builds there is a tablet feature allowing you to control all blender sliders with pressure sensitivity - light touches will allow more sensitive input than when more pressure is applied. As this feature implies tablets are being used instead of a mouse in Blender, what I want to know is how do people do this? Blender’s interface requires one hand on the mouse and one on the keyboard but I find it hard to work with both on my desk simultaneously - the tablet takes up too much space. Are people able to use the tablet with a hand on the keyboard comfortably?

Koba