Teaching Blender to Children

I am a technology educator at a science museum. I teach middle/high school students (11-18 years old) enrichment classes on robotics, programming, and video game development. I would like to offer a sequence of courses on Blender in the summer (target ages may vary per class). Each course is 3 hours a day for 5 days. My goal is to give them enough positive association and practical skills so that they will self teach after having left the class. I am trying to figure out how to do that, and would greatly appreciate any feedback I could get from the community.

I am an engineer, not an artist, but Blender Guru’s tutorials have done a good job of making me feel like an artist. Also, the UI updates are a huge improvement from the Blender of years ago!

So far I’ve been trying to sketch out what a curriculum on Blender that emphasizes video game production and general stuff that would get kids to go “Wow! Neat!”. This is what I have:

Modeling, Sculpting, & Texturing
Rigging & Animation
Particles, Fluids, & Sims (etc)
Camera & Object Tracking
Materials, Lights, & Rendering
Terrain Creation

Remember each course is 15 hours long (which translates to ~12 teachable hours). As a general rule of thumb, high school students move 2-3 times faster through material than middle school students do.

Major concerns are the length of the material (I have no experience teaching Blender) and its difficulty (specifically, the learning curve from hot keys). Screencast keys and printing out a list of the hotkeys we will be using that day will help, but still not be trivial for them.

I find Camera & Object Tracking to be a suitable penultimate class (targeting 15-18 year olds?). How cool would it be to shoot a very short clip featuring the students of the class, and have them edit in something fanciful, like flaming swords or a wizard’s lightning?