Terrain modeling from counturs (autocad or rhino)

Hi to all…
i am an architect and a user of rhino…i want to ask if i can create a terrain from countors
also in sculpitng mode if i want to create a hill how i know the elevation of sculpting brush?

1 Like

see if this can help

happy bl

Possibly, if the contours are a curve they could be converted to mesh and then you could bridge the edges together. I don’t know how easy it would be for curves of varying verticies. Are you planning on bringing the contours in from another piece of software ie. CAD, or are you planning on doing them all in Blender?

Ricky’s idea is a good one for existing terrain, but for new construction, custom cuts and fills and the like would have to be modeled in some way.

thnx for reply…i can export the countours from rhino (.obj flie) and import them in blender…and then???

also i can elevate each countour in rhino… so in blender just make a mesh from the countours…and have my terrain with specific elevation…
somrthink like this…https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBnCAx51nCo

show us some pics to see what you get
and Identify what it is like mesh lines or curves ?

happy bl

You would have to make each curve a mesh object and then bridge the edges. That’s pretty much what the plugin is doing in 3DS. I might check on another method that just popped into my head when I get time, but this is how I would do it for now, and wish that I knew how to script.

so here is the workflow in rhino…
step 1. elevate the curves

step 2. patch curves to surface

and the u can further edit the surface with edit points if u like…
so is there a way to insert the curves from rhino…to blender and haveamesh surface? rhino curves.obj (2.3 KB)

Not sure of what you wish to do with this in Blender…