Terran Siege Tank - First Post

Hi there

I’ve been using blender for about 3 years, but this is my first time posting on this forum. I have come here a number of times in the past however, to look for tutorials and the like.

I’m modeling a terran siege tank based on some of the concept drawings on the Starcraft 2 site. I was disappointed with the design that’s actually going to be in-game, so I’m making something more to my liking (and more like the original concept)

Here are the drawings, done by a BLIZZARD DESIGNER, not me:
http://images.wiki.wegame.com/i/59Ruqd3h.jpg
They’re not very accurate and there are a lot of inconsistencies between side and plan view

My goal is to make this a “realistic” render that could be viewed as the actual thing.

Here’s my progress, rendered with ao and no materials:

http://i32.tinypic.com/j14uw5.png <- high resolution

Looking for feedback (critique) and maybe some ideas for texture.

I was thinking of some worn, warm grey metal textures, warm grey rubberized parts, and some maroon (or a bit lighter?) red trim.

Interesting, I like it, looks like it’s been alot of work…well done!!!

I like it a lot. I just played the original Starcraft the other day. It brought back some memories. I’ve been wanting to build a wraith ever since. I’m gonna keep watching this thread, so keep posting. Good work.