Texture Creation

It seems to me a lot of low poly models are really just good textures. I wanted to ask how you would go about creating textures like scifi ships ect… obviously i dont have a scifi ship available to take a picture of so how do you guys go about this? Without having to use online textures, but creating your own. Thanks.

Can anyone lead me to a tutorial on creating realistic textures? I just cannot find any information on the web regarding it.

Well you can begin by making bump maps with lots of square outlines in black over a white background. Space ships are usually made up of lots of plates that are bolted/welded into place. This adds a ton of realism. You can also achieve this by going into edit mode, setting it to face select mode and deselecting everything then going down to select > random. then extrude those faces just a little. I’m no artist, so I have to break most things down into the basics; think about how the spaceship you are designing would look in real life, how it would be used and what its environment would be like.

I’m getting off topic. First thing you do is UV unwarp then export that uv unwrap as a png. Bring that png into Photoshop or gimp and paint on it. Pretend the png is a ships components and you have the job of painting them. Honestly Cycles does most of the hard work for you i.e. the shading, shadows, lighting. All you have to do is make a few stickers in Ps. If you need some inspiration, google eveonline ships.

Thanks for the help Brent! You at least guided me in the right direction.